Press Releases Comments (0)

Greenville, SC —The NCAA has awarded seven cities Division I Women’s Basketball Championship hosting duties for regional play in 2019 and 2020, with five of the seven arenas hosting the championship for the first time.

Selected to host regionals in 2019 are Albany, New York (Times Union Center), Chicago, Illinois (Wintrust Arena), Greensboro, North Carolina (Greensboro Coliseum) and Portland, Oregon (Moda Center), with play taking place March 29-April 1.  Albany, which will also serve as a regional host site in 2018, will be hosting for the third time, while Greensboro will be hosting its fifth regional.  Wintrust Arena, as well as the Moda Center will be hosting the NCAA Division Women’s Basketball Championship games for the first time.

In 2020, Fort Wayne, Indiana (Allen County War Memorial Coliseum), Greenville, South Carolina (Bon Secours Wellness Arena), Portland (Moda Center) and Dallas, Texas (Moody Coliseum) will serve as the four regional sites, March 27-30.  Bon Secours Wellness Arena, Allen County War Memorial Coliseum and Moody Coliseum will be first time hosts.  Portland and the Moda Center will be hosting for a second straight year.


Here is a full list of the 2019 and 2020 regional sites and hosts that were selected:

2019 Dates Host(s) Round City, State Facility
March 29-April 1 Metro Atlantic Athletic Conference Regional Albany, N.Y. Times Union Center
March 29-April 1 DePaul University Regional Chicago, Ill. Wintrust Arena
March 29-April 1 Atlantic Coast Conference Regional Greensboro, N.C. Greensboro Coliseum
March 29-April 1 Oregon State University Regional Portland, Ore. Moda Center


2020 Dates Host(s) Round City, State Facility
March 27-30 Southern Conference Regional Greenville, S.C. Bon Secours Wellness Arena
March 27-30 IPFW Regional Fort Wayne, Ind. Allen County War Memorial Coliseum
March 27-30 Oregon State University Regional Portland, Ore. Moda Center
March 27-30 SMU and Dallas Sports Commission Regional Dallas, Texas


Moody Coliseum

This is the second time for this specific NCAA championship bid process, which created the largest host site announcement ever, spanning 84 championships across as much as a four-year cycle.  Previously, selection announcements varied by sport.  The process now gives the NCAA and host sites more time to plan the championship experience.

Bidding for 84 of the 90 NCAA championships began in July and more than 3,000 bid applications were ultimately submitted.  Each sport committee, per division, selected the host sites it believed would provide the ultimate experience for the respective student-athletes, resulting in more than 500 total championship event sites being awarded.  More than 54,000 student-athletes compete in NCAA championships each year.  The six championships not included in the process due to preexisting site arrangements are: Division I baseball, Division I football, Division I softball, Division I Men’s and Women’s Outdoor Track and Field and Division III women’s ice hockey.


About the NCAA                                                                 

The NCAA is a diverse association of more than 1,100 member colleges and universities that prioritize academics, well-being and fairness to create greater opportunities for nearly half a million student-athletes each year.  The NCAA provides a pathway to higher education and beyond for student-athletes pursuing academic goals and competing in NCAA sports.  For more information on all of the NCAA championship sites awarded, log on to

On April 18, 2017

Comments are closed.

« »